South River's Abbey Lawrence (2) is greeted by teammates, left to right, Brook Cox, Taylor Bresnahan, and Maddy Ulery after scoring an overtime goal to beat Glenelg. (Doug Kapustin/for The Washington Post)

For years, Severna Park, South River and Broadneck have battled atop the Anne Arundel field hockey landscape in the area’s best public school league.

This season, South River stood alone.

The Seahawks went 6-0 against their biggest rivals, including wins over both in the Maryland 4A East playoffs, and won their first state title since 2005 to secure the No. 1 spot in The Post’s final field hockey Top 10.

South River (17-1-1) went undefeated against local competition, including a 2-1 win over Maryland 2A champion Glenelg in September, and an 8-1 win over Maryland 4A South champion Blake in a state semifinal earlier this month.

“I couldn’t have asked for a better couple of months,” senior forward Abbey Lawrence said. “It’s the best feeling to know I helped be a part of a state championship.”

Lawrence, a LaSalle recruit, led the Seahawks with 24 goals and 16 assists, while senior Jennie Milligan added 18 goals and 11 assists.

Senior defender Taylor Bresnahan headlined a defense that allowed fewer than one goal per game.

“The leadership the seniors brought to this team [made the difference]” South River Coach Katie Corcoran said. “They worked so hard this year to get to this point and finally do it.”

The Post Top 10

South River won the Maryland 4A championship, Glenelg won the Maryland 2A championship and Atholton won the Maryland 3A championship . . . St. Stephen’s/St. Agnes handed Bullis its only loss of the season in the ISL tournament championship game . . . Westfield had its 18-game winning streak snapped with a 2-1 loss to Mountain View in the Virginia AAA quarterfinals . . . Severna Park and Broadneck each lost three times to South River and once to each other.

1. South River (17-1-1)

2. Glenelg (17-1)

3. Westfield (20-3)

4. Atholton (15-2)

5. Severna Park (12-4)

6. Broadneck (12-4)

7. St. Stephen’s/St. Agnes (17-5-1)

8. Bullis (17-1)

9. Walter Johnson (13-2)

10. Poolesville (14-2)

Also considered: South County (17-7), Blake (12-4), Wootton (13-1-1)