Five of Bob Baffert’s 14 Preakness starters have won. (Photo by Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images) (Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images)

With five victories in 14 starts, Bob Baffert is one of the most successful Preakness trainers of all time. He ranks behind only the 19th-century trainer R.W. Walden (seven wins) and Wayne Lukas (six).

While many of his contemporaries fret about the stress of running a horse in the Preakness only 14 days after the Derby, Baffert keeps them fit and sharp; his 3-year-olds usually perform as well or better at Pimlico than they did at Churchill Downs. Silver Charm, Real Quiet and War Emblem captured the first two legs of the Triple Crown. Point Given and Lookin at Lucky both lost the Derby as the favorite — Lookin at Lucky had a disastrous trip — but both bounced back to capture the Preakness.

Baffert’s entrant in the 139th Preakness does not look as formidable as any of his prior winners. Bayern didn’t qualify to run in the Derby, and used the one-mile Derby Trial on April 26 as his prep for the Preakness. He finished first by a nose but was disqualified.

Baffert’s complete Preakness record:

2013: Govenor Charlie, eighth

2012: Bodemeister, second

2011: Midnight Interlude, 13th

2010: Lookin at Lucky, won

2009: Pioneerof the Nile, 11th

2003: Senor Swinger, fifth

2002: War Emblem, won

2001: Point Given, won

2001: Congaree, third

2000: Captain Steve, fourth

1999: Excellent Meeting, DNF

1998: Real Quiet, won

1997: Silver Charm, won

1996: Cavonnier, fourth

— Andrew Beyer