Detours with locals.
Travel tips you can trust.

Where can Americans travel to in the Caribbean?

A look at the Caribbean’s border closures and travel restrictions for tourists from the U.S.

(iStock/Washington Post illustration)

As countries figure out how to deal with the coronavirus pandemic, some have closed their borders to outside travel. Sometimes that’s a blanket ban on visitors, while for others the bans are origin country-specific. The United States is among countries targeted for bans due to increasing coronavirus cases.

So where can Americans travel? While the State Department has a Global Level 4 Health Advisory to warn citizens to avoid all international travel until further notice, these are the Caribbean destinations technically open for U.S. tourists.

Antigua and Barbuda


Antigua and Barbuda opened it borders to international travelers on June 1. According to the country’s tourism website, “All arriving passengers will be monitored for COVID-19 for periods of up to 14 days in accordance with the directions of the Quarantine Authority and the Quarantine (COVID-19) Guidelines.”

Visitors arriving by plane must show a negative covid-19 RT-PCR (real-time polymerase chain reaction) test result, taken within seven days of their flight. Visitors arriving by sea have different quarantine guidelines issued by Port Health Authorities.

Antigua and Barbuda health authorities may require travelers to take coronavirus tests at their hotel or other accommodation.


Aruba began allowing American visitors on July 10. Visitors must follow a number of government-mandated procedures before entry, including submitting a negative covid-19 PCR test result.



The Bahamas has closed its borders to most U.S. visitors after a brief period of reopening.

According to Prime Minister Hubert Minnis, “the situation here at home has already deteriorated since we began the reopening of our domestic economy,” he said. “It has deteriorated at an exponential rate since we reopened our international borders.”


Barbados reopened its borders to international travel on July 12, and recently launched a program allowing visitors to stay on the Caribbean island visa-free for up to one year. Travelers from the United States must follow “high risk” category protocols, including taking a coronavirus test before or on arrival.


Belize’s international airport will reopen on August 15 as part of the country’s third phase of reopening. According to the Belize tourism website, visitors will have to follow new entry protocols, including having a coronavirus test before or on arrival.

Caribbean Netherlands


According to the U.S. Consulate General, travel restrictions for Americans to the Caribbean Netherlands vary. Most U.S. airlines have canceled flights to Bonaire until at least August 2020. Americans may request entry to Sint Eustatius, but will have to quarantine in a facility upon arrival. Only Americans conducting essential travel are allowed in Saba at this time and must email their request to



Unrelated to the pandemic, tourist travel to Cuba is prohibited by the U.S. government unless you obtain a license from the Treasury Department, or your trip meets certain requirements. The country has opened its borders to international tourism, but is restricting where tourists may go, according to Reuters.


While American travelers are not allowed to visit Curaçao at this time, the country has been accepting travelers from more than 20 international destinations since July 1.


On Aug. 7, the Nature Island of Dominica is opening its borders to international travelers who comply with new health protocols.

Dominican Republic

Tourism reopened in the Dominican Republic on July 1. Travelers must complete a temperature screening and coronavirus test upon arrival.



Grenada is allowing visitors from “low risk countries,” and plans to open to “medium risk” country visitors on Aug. 1. Travelers from “high risk” countries, including the United States, are not allowed to visit Grenada at this time, according to the country’s tourism website.


Travelers to Guadeloupe must show a negative covid-19 PCR test result or undergo a 14-day quarantine, among other requirements.


American visitors to Haiti must quarantine for 14 days after arrival, among other coronavirus protocols, according to the U.S. Embassy in Haiti website.



Americans must complete an online Travel Authorization to visit Jamaica. Leisure travelers 12 and older from Arizona, Florida, New York and Texas will also have to submit a negative PCR test result. “Leisure travelers from areas not currently designated as high risk may be subject to swab testing based on symptoms or responses to the risk assessment,” a statement from the country’s tourism office.


Travelers to Martinique must show a negative covid-19 PCR test result or undergo a 14-day quarantine, among other requirements.

St. Barthélemy

St. Barth reopened to tourists, with testing requirements, on June 22.

St. Lucia


St. Lucia is open to American travelers who complete a pre-arrival registration form and provide a negative covid-19 PCR test result, among other restrictions.

St.-Martin/St. Maarten

The island of St. Martin, divided into a French side and a Dutch side, is open to travelers from the Caribbean, Europe and Canada, but closed to Americans. According to the U.S. Consulate General website, fights between the United States and Saint-Martin will tentatively resume on Aug. 1.

St. Vincent and the Grenadines

Americans and other international travelers are allowed to visit St. Vincent and the Grenadines by following specific protocols outlined by the ministry of national security.

Turks and Caicos Islands

Turks and Caicos Islands opened its borders on July 22.

U.S. Virgin Islands

(Salwan Georges/The Washington Post)

The U.S. Virgin Islands has an “Open Doors” policy for travelers. Visitors will have health screenings, which vary by state, upon arrival.

These countries remain closed to all tourists at this time: Cayman Islands, the British Virgin Islands, Guyana, Trinidad and Tobago, Suriname, St. Kitts and Nevis, Montserrat, and Anguilla. Puerto Rico, a U.S. territory, has postponed its official inbound tourism and is only allowing essential travel at this time.

Read more:

Qatar Airways is requiring passengers to wear face shields. This is what health experts had to say.

Photos | An inside look at Disney park reopenings around the world

Airbnb can survive the pandemic. But can Airbnb hosts?

We noticed you’re blocking ads!

Keep supporting great journalism by turning off your ad blocker. Or purchase a subscription for unlimited access to real news you can count on.
Unblock ads
Questions about why you are seeing this? Contact us