Clinton Accused Special Report
Navigation Bar
Navigation Bar

 Main Page
 News Archive
 Key Players

  blue line
Senate Vote on Perjury staff
Friday, February 12, 1999

The 55-45 roll call by which the Senate voted to reject the article of impeachment alleging that President Clinton committed perjury and provided false testimony before a grand jury with regard to the Paula Jones's sexual harassment lawsuit and his relationship with Monica Lewinsky. A two-thirds vote – 67 – was needed to convict.

Voting "not guilty" were 45 Democrats and 10 Republicans. Voting "guilty" were 45 Republicans.

Alabama Sen. Jeff Sessions (R): Guilty Sen. Richard Shelby (R): Not guilty
Alaska Sen. Frank Murkowski (R): Guilty Sen. Ted Stevens (R): Not guilty
Arizona Sen. Jon Kyl (R): Guilty Sen. John McCain (R): Guilty
Arkansas Sen. Tim Hutchinson (R): Guilty Sen. Blanche Lambert Lincoln (D): Not guilty
California Sen. Barbara Boxer (D): Not guilty Sen. Dianne Feinstein (D): Not guilty
Colorado Sen. Wayne Allard (R): Guilty Sen. Ben Nighthorse Campbell (R): Guilty
Connecticut Sen. Christopher Dodd (D): Not guilty Sen. Joseph Lieberman (D): Not guilty
Delaware Sen. Joseph Biden (D): Not guilty Sen. William Roth (R): Guilty
Florida Sen. Bob Graham (D): Not guilty Sen. Connie Mack (R): Guilty
Georgia Sen. Max Cleland (D): Not guilty Sen. Paul Coverdell (R): Guilty
Hawaii Sen. Daniel Akaka (D): Not guilty Sen. Daniel Inouye (D): Not guilty
Idaho Sen. Larry Craig (R): Guilty Sen. Mike Crapo (R): Guilty
Illinois Sen. Richard Durbin (D): Not guilty Sen. Peter Fitzgerald (R): Guilty
Indiana Sen. Evan Bayh (D): Not guilty Sen. Richard Lugar (R): Guilty
Iowa Sen. Charles Grassley (R): Guilty Sen. Tom Harkin (D): Not guilty
Kansas Sen. Sam Brownback (R): Guilty Sen. Pat Roberts (R): Guilty
Kentucky Sen. Jim Bunning (R): Guilty Sen. Mitch McConnell (R): Guilty
Louisiana Sen. John Breaux (D): Not guilty Sen. Mary Landrieu (D): Not guilty
Maine Sen. Susan Collins (R): Not guilty Sen. Olympia Snowe (R): Not guilty
Maryland Sen. Barbara Mikulski (D): Not guilty Sen. Paul Sarbanes (D): Not guilty
Massachusetts Sen. Edward Kennedy (D): Not guilty Sen. John Kerry (D): Not guilty
Michigan Sen. Spencer Abraham (R): Guilty Sen. Carl Levin (D): Not guilty
Minnesota Sen. Rod Grams (R): Guilty Sen. Paul Wellstone (D): Not guilty
Mississippi Sen. Thad Cochran (R): Guilty Sen. Trent Lott (R): Guilty
Missouri Sen. John Ashcroft (R): Guilty Sen. Christopher (Kit) Bond (R): Guilty
Montana Sen. Max Baucus (D): Not guilty Sen. Conrad Burns (R): Guilty
Nebraska Sen. Chuck Hagel (R): Guilty Sen. Bob Kerrey (D): Not guilty
Nevada Sen. Richard Bryan (D): Not guilty Sen. Harry Reid (D): Not guilty
New Hampshire Sen. Judd Gregg (R): Guilty Sen. Bob Smith (R): Guilty
New Jersey Sen. Frank Lautenberg (D): Not guilty Sen. Robert Torricelli (D): Not guilty
New Mexico Sen. Jeff Bingaman (D): Not guilty Sen. Pete Domenici (R): Guilty
New York Sen. Daniel Patrick Moynihan (D): Not guilty Sen. Charles Schumer (D): Not guilty
North Carolina Sen. John Edwards (D): Not guilty Sen. Jesse Helms (R): Guilty
North Dakota Sen. Kent Conrad (D): Not guilty Sen. Byron Dorgan (D): Not guilty
Ohio Sen. Mike DeWine (R): Guilty Sen. George Voinovich (R): Guilty
Oklahoma Sen. James Inhofe (R): Guilty Sen. Don Nickles (R): Guilty
Oregon Sen. Gordon Smith (R): Guilty Sen. Ron Wyden (D): Not guilty
Pennsylvania Sen. Rick Santorum (R): Guilty Sen. Arlen Specter (R): Not guilty
Rhode Island Sen. John Chafee (R): Not guilty Sen. Jack Reed (D): Not guilty
South Carolina Sen. Ernest "Fritz" Hollings (D): Not guilty Sen. Strom Thurmond (R): Guilty
South Dakota Sen. Thomas Daschle (D): Not guilty Sen. Tim Johnson (D): Not guilty
Tennessee Sen. Bill Frist (R): Guilty Sen. Fred Thompson (R): Not guilty
Texas Sen. Phil Gramm (R): Guilty Sen. Kay Bailey Hutchison (R): Guilty
Utah Sen. Robert Bennett (R): Guilty Sen. Orrin Hatch (R): Guilty
Vermont Sen. James Jeffords (R): Not guilty Sen. Patrick Leahy (D): Not guilty
Virginia Sen. Charles Robb (D): Not guilty Sen. John Warner (R): Not guilty
Washington Sen. Slade Gorton (R): Not guilty Sen. Patty Murray (D): Not guilty
West Virginia Sen. Robert Byrd (D): Not guilty Sen. Jay Rockefeller (D): Not guilty
Wisconsin Sen. Russell Feingold (D): Not guilty Sen. Herb Kohl (D): Not guilty
Wyoming Sen. Mike Enzi (R): Guilty Sen. Craig Thomas (R): Guilty

© Copyright 1999 The Washington Post Company

Back to the top

Navigation Bar
Navigation Bar
yellow pages