Go to Sports
Memories: 1995

Stars in 1995


Greg Maddux
Won unprecedented fourth straight Cy Young Award, second straight unanimously ... Had 1.63 ERA following 1.56 in 1994, first pitcher since Walter Johnson in 1918-19 with consecutive ERAs under 1.80 ... Was 19-2 and has 35-8 record over last two seasons ... Pitched two-hitter to win World Series opener.

Randy Johnson
American League Cy Young winner ... Led majors for fourth straight year with 294 strikeouts ... Led AL with 2.48 earned run average in an 18-2 season ... First Seattle player to win postseason award in team’s 19-year history.

Barry Larkin
First shortstop in 33 years to win National League MVP ... Batted .319 with 15 home runs, 66 RBIs and 51 stolen bases ... Led Cincinnati to NL Central championship and first postseason appearance in five years.

Mo Vaughn
Beat out Albert Belle by eight points for American League MVP ... Batted .300 with 39 home runs and 126 RBIs, leading Red Sox to division title ... Good guy with considerable charitable involvement in Boston area ... Wears uniform No. 42 to commemorate Jackie Robinson.

Tom Glavine
World Series MVP with two wins for Atlanta, including eight-inning, one-hitter in clincher ... Was 16-7 with 3.08 ERA in regular season ... Winningest pitcher in majors in last five years with 91 victories, one more than Maddox.


Steve Young
Super Bowl MVP, throwing record six touchdown passes against San Diego last January ... Led league in passing efficiency for record fourth straight year with 112.8 rating, throwing for 3,969 yards and 35 touchdowns as regular season MVP ... Career rating of 96.8 makes him most accurate passer in NFL history.

Eddie George
Swept Heisman and Maxwell awards as best college player and Doak Walker award as best senior running back ... Set Ohio State rushing record with 1,826 yards, 6.0 per carry ... Led nation with 24 touchdowns.

Ended decades of dreadful football by winning Big Ten championship, earning first trip to Rose Bowl since 1949 ... Had first winning season since 1971 ... Fulfilled Rose Bowl pledge of coach Gary Barnett, who won eight games in first three years and 10 this season.


Hakeem Olajuwon
Led Houston Rockets to second straight NBA championship ... Has won last two playoff MVP awards ... Two-time Defensive Player of the Year ... Only player in NBA history ranked in top 10 in both blocks and steals.

David Robinson
Regular season MVP after leading San Antonio to league-best 62-20 regular season record, best ever for franchise ... Averaged 27.6 points, 10.8 rebounds and finished season ranked among top 20 in five categories: scoring, blocks, rebounding, steals and field goal percentage.

Ed O’Bannon
MVP of Final Four, leading UCLA to first NCAA basketball championship since the John Wooden dynasty years ... Averaged 20.4 points and 8.3 rebounds per game, capping brilliant comeback from devastating knee injury in 1990 ... First-round pick of New Jersey Nets, ninth player drafted.


Claude Lemieux
Stanley Cup MVP with 13 goals in 20 games for New Jersey Devils after just six goals in 45 regular-season games ... Pesky player with over 220 goals in nine NHL seasons ... Traded to Colorado in contract dispute.

Eric Lindros
Regular-season MVP tied for scoring title with 70 points in lockout-shortened third NHL season ... Led Philadelphia Flyers in goals, assists, points, plus-minus, shots and shooting percentage, leading team to playoffs for first time since 1989 ... At age 22, youngest MVP in 15 years.


Pete Sampras
Regained the No. 1 ranking at year’s end after trailing Andre Agassi much of season ... Won third straight Wimbledon and third U.S. Open ... Led U.S. to Davis Cup victory over Russia, winning both singles and teaming with Todd Martin in doubles ... Joins Ivan Lendl (1985-87), Jimmy Connors (1974-78) and John McEnroe (1981-84) as only players with three straight No. 1 finishes.

Steffi Graf
Won French Open, Wimbledon and U.S. Open, despite personal problems and injury-plagued season ... Missed Australian Open with injuries or might have had a second Grand Slam ... Won nine tournaments, including season-ending WTA Championship, and called it best season of her career.


European Ryder Cup Team
Beat U.S. to regain Cup for first time since 1989 ... Every player on team had at least one victory and least experienced — Philip Walton, Howard Clark, Per-Ulrick Johansson. and David Gilford — went 8-6 ... Veterans Nick Faldo, Bernhard Langer, Ian Woosnam, Colin Montgomerie, Seve Ballesteros and Sam Torrance anchored victory.

Annika Sorenstam
LPGA Player of the Year ... Also won Vare Trophy for lowest scoring average ... Led all players in earnings with $666,533 ... Won six tournaments including U.S. Women’s Open and World Championship of Women’s Golf ... Joins Nancy Lopez as only player to follow Rookie of Year win with Player of the Year and Vare Trophy.


Riddick Bowe
Regained prominent spot among heavyweights with six-round knockouts of Herbie Hyde and Jorge Luis Gonzalez, then got off the deck for eighth-round KO of Evander Holyfield ... Widely viewed as best fighter in division.

Roy Jones, Jr.
Defended IBF super middleweight title three times with three knockouts ... Extended unbeaten record to 30-0 with 26 knockouts ... Considered finest fighter pound-for-pound in the world.


Winner of 12 straight races including Breeders’ Cup Classic ... First male thoroughbred to go undefeated in season since Spectacular Bid in 1980 ... Broke Sunday Silence’s record for most earnings in a year, with $4,819,800.

D. Wayne Lukas
Swept all three Triple Crown races, extending record winning streak in those events to five straight ... First trainer to sweep Triple Crown with more than one horse ... Won Kentucky Derby and Belmont with Thunder Gulch and Preakness with Timber Country.


Jacques Villeneuve
Winner of Indy 500, one of four victories during season ... At 24, became youngest driver ever to capture PPG Cup and $1 million first prize as season’s leading IndyCar driver ... Following late father, Gilles, into Formula One series next season.

Jeff Gordon
Captured Winston Cup championship in third full season at age 24, second youngest to win title in NASCAR’s 47 years ... Led stock car series in victories with eight, poles with seven and fought off late-season challenge by seven-time champ Dale Earnhardt for the title.

Michael Schumacher
Won second straight Formula One championship at age 26 ... Matched record of nine victories in season set three years earlier by Nigel Mansell ... Clinched championship with three races remaining in 16-race schedule.


Haile Gebrselassie
Broke both 5,000 and 10,000-meter records, lowering 5,000 mark by almost 11 seconds, from 12:55.30 to 12:44.39 ... Also set world best and unofficial record in two-mile ... Was undefeated for the year.

Sonia O’Sullivan
Swept six races at 5,000 meters ... Posted only sub-8:30 clocking for 3,000 meters, winning five races at that distance ... Captured nine of 10 races at 1,500 meters with seven times under 4:10.

© 1995 The Washington Post Company

Back to the top